Visual comparison and observations

It's true: Bloober Team is remaking Silent Hill 2. Talk about it in here to keep Remake talk separate from the original!

Moderator: Moderators

otto2302
Just Passing Through

Visual comparison and observations

Post by otto2302 »

I did a bit of photoshopping trying to feel some colors from the SH2RE trailer. Hopefully the image embedding isn't too big for this forum.

What I noticed when referencing the original PS2 version is that the lighting was fairly simple (I have no deep knowledge of PS2 era lighting engines - I remember that the moving shadows from the flashlight when Laura kicks the key was a big deal technical wise) and often neutral in color. The color palette is achieved mainly by environmental material choices and background textures. Sometimes the light and fog effect is colored (e.g. when Maria opens up the door to Heaven's night - if I remember correctly this was a timed sunset event that took like 6 minutes to transition fully).

The SH2Remake seems to lean heavily towards modern common lighting schemes - strong warm light contrasted with cool shadow, or the very blue foggy scheme from the top most image. Now these are very functional and well used lighting techniques based on colors complementing each other and having that sweet sweet warm versus cool contrast. The flip side for such a popular cinematography lighting is that sometimes films and video games tend to homogenize toward very similar color palettes. I liked the washed out, bleak, sometimes sickly green and blue (that reminds me of water damage and damp moldy basement) look of PS2 SH2, but I am also very certain that they used custom lighting for the trailer to make it look visually appealing for big audience and easy-to-digest and doesn't entirely represent the color palette or lighting of the final product.

BTW the film grain adds a LOT - I really hope they include the setting for the game.

You can see the original large 4k image here