Rough Graphics?

Have you seen Harry's daughter anywhere? Short, dark hair?

Moderator: Moderators

Eric-3
Cafe5to2 Waitress

Rough Graphics?

Post by Eric-3 »

I just started playing this on PS3 as a PSN PSOne Classic. I'm using an SD TV.
The graphics look really rough. I don't mean the textures or the blocky 3D, I mean...it looks like the screen is covered by little dots or squares. This is the only game I have this problem with.

http://img.gamefaqs.net/screens/b/d/7/gfs_42896_2_2.jpg
http://img.gamefaqs.net/screens/d/1/7/gfs_42896_2_6.jpg
More examples here: http://www.gamefaqs.com/ps/198641-silent-hill/images

Has the game always been like this, even the disc version running on a PS1? It's rather distracting sometimes, especially if I move the camera around quickly. I tried turning Smoothing on, but that didn't help.
The Adversary
RESPECT

Re: Rough Graphics?

Post by The Adversary »

You mean the snow? Yeah, it's always there.
This post is the property of its author and is not to be used elsewhere without explicit permission from the author.

. . . AND THAT'S THAT.
alone in the town
Historical Society Historian

Post by alone in the town »

I think he is referring to how the screenshots appear to be covered in what looks like a low-resolution grain filter, what future games did with actual film grain effects.

If so, that's always been part of the game and is totally normal.
Kenji

Post by Kenji »

It's the hardware emulation. A similar situation showed up on the PS2, where the screen was divided into a much more visible grid of lit squares than was apparent on the PS1. It's only a slight annoyance, but it is noticeable.

At the end of the day, original hardware is best.
Eric-3
Cafe5to2 Waitress

Post by Eric-3 »

OK. Thanks. I ended up playing through most of the game today and thankfully I just got so into the game that I forgot about being bothered by the grain square things.